A New Thing

Isaiah 43:19
Behold, I am doing a new thing; now it springs forth, do you not perceive it?
I will make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.

          This is the only scripture I would recommend reading today, and I would say this is the only thing we should dwell on today as well.  It is the call from God reminding us of the promise of faithfulness.  The heading in my study Bible calls it “A New Exodus from Babylon.”  It goes beyond the promises of a New Year’s Day to bring us a New Year’s Life!  Every day is a new day, every moment is an opportunity to receive the gift of grace from our loving God as we seek to stand up and turn away from darkness and despair.
          I’m certain that I am susceptible to a little nostalgic reflection today because this is my first New Year’s Day living in Texas.  It has been a big change, it is a very different world.  Yet, in so many ways it is exactly the same as my old world.  The wind seems like it’s always in my face, the warmth of the sun on my sleeves overwhelms the chill in the breeze, and the chocolate milk after a long and glorious ride is just as amazingly refreshing.  It is different, but, it is the same.
          Each of us, as we begin this new year will tend to proclaim that we too are doing a new thing, and truly, I hope that you are.  Whether or not you are a pledge or resolution type person, we each have so much that we can do to make our lives better, and indeed the world better for those who have so little in their lives.  We have abundance, and we know what we are called to do.  I look forward to a new year, full of ups and downs…hoping not to get too winded.  I look forward to riding, reading, learning and growing.  I’ll be looking for the way God promises in Isaiah’s words, and thirsting for the river.  Friends, I hope you will be too!
All the best for your new year!!

I will be returning to regular weekly updates of my blog, now that I have settled in…
Keep on rolling…

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “A New Thing”

  1. Cyndy Aldred Says:

    Thanks Stephen for sharing… Cyndy


Leave a Reply

