Count Me In

“21, 22, 23, 24, 31, 38” Lucy said.  Her sister and I had a good little giggle.  She’s getting close.  She’s perfect thru 20, and it’s only a matter of time.

I’ve been thinking a lot about counting and “making it count.”  We received our 2010 Census packet in the mail, and as I walked in from the mailbox all I could hear resounding in my ear was “In those days a decree went out from Congress, that all shall be counted in their home.”

Reading most of the Book of Revelation over this past weekend, I was struck by the numbers and how profoundly important it was for the people of the day to strive to be counted among the “servants of God.”  All I could hear as I pondered that “Book of Life” idea was the soothing Taize chorus “Jesus, remember me, when you come into your kingdom.”  (http://www.taize.fr/en_article681.html– my favorite link of the week!)

Our theme material for Sunday’s worship is centered on human plurality and our need to embrace diversity.  This most wonderful prayer was listed there-
God, may we see in your Oneness out need for unity,
God, may we see in your Three-ness our need for community,
God, may we see in your creativity our need for diversity,
God, may we see in your Self our need to love each other.
Amen.
Never give up on the notion that what you are doing counts.  Never give up on the TRUTH that what God is doing counts!  Lucy- never give up on counting- because you remind me that I count, that you count…that everybody counts…and that we can count on God!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

