Going Home

The wind blew against me today on my way home.  I had a deadline.  The wind always blows against me when I have a deadline!  Going home always seems more difficult than it should be.  Marg Archibald, in her book Cycling Into Your Soul, speaks of the struggle of going home after her international cycling journey. 

 

“What can I hold on to from this trip? How can I stay changed?” she asks.  Ironic for me to read and reflect on these questions since I have not yet gone, however, appropriate I think.  A reminder of how I want to be thinking from here on out.  

 

What does this sabbatical have to offer me?  Not just freedom of time, I think, but freedom of mind and spirit.  I want to remember that this is the time to wonder – What is God doing in my life?  What direction is my ministry moving?  What do I want to hold on to from this trip?  How can I stay changed, when I come back?

 

Honestly, Archibald never articulates her answers in this book.  I hope, when my sabbatical adventure is over, I can!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

