Cycling Into My Soul

Well, my first book is not quite the spiritual experience that a title like “Cycling Into Your Soul” might suggest!  Never the less, there have been a couple of key issues that I see true for myself as well.  

 

Marg Archibold writes about riding all over Russia, Turkey and other several other countries along the way.  She is essentially traveling alone, and that proves to be an important piece of the journey for her.

 

I think that’s one of the key pieces for my sabbatical journey as well!  Most of the time, in ministry I find myself around and about other people– helping people understand who they are, or interpreting what it means to be in community, or facilitating communication between those working on ministry together.  Rarely does church life offer the minister an opportunity to be alone, focused on themselves.  Even some of our time in the office are spent together, working on people or ministry issues.

 

I look forward to my time away from church, so that I can really spend time tending to myself.  I look forward to the times I will have to ride alone, working on my goals, my plans, and my questions!  Cycling has always been a place of quiet comfort and contemplation and I have no doubt that will double in my sabbatical time.


Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

